I have a brother who owns a pest control company and recruits summer sales reps (Anyone need a summer job?). C, I have found the recruiting hot spot for you. Turks can sell just about anything. I consider myself to be pretty good at saying no to even the sneakiest sales tactics, but there were a few times when I wavered a bit.

For Curt’s sanity we split up our trips to the Spice Bazaar and the Grand Bazaar in the two days we were in Istanbul. We started out on the light side by going to the Spice Bazaar first. I think I was expecting to encounter some exotic spices that I had never heard of, but I really just found things common in the states, aside from real saffron. It was fun to look and taste and buy (whenever I could get the price to my liking). The Spice Bazaar had a lot more than just spices and treats, although we mainly focused on these products.

The Grand Bazaar houses over 4,000 shops selling ceramics, jewelry, lamps, carpets, belly dancing costumes, tea and spices, trinkets, games, shoes, scarves, etc. Even relaxing in a corner can be exhausting, but I loved it. Shopping here can be quite expensive, especially if you don’t feel comfortable bartering. Of course we wanted to come here for the experience, but we found all the same stuff on the Asian side for 25% of the price on the European side.

Just in case you are planning a trip to the Grand Bazaar, I have 2 pieces of advice.

1. When asking the salesmen (because the large majority of them are men) how much something costs, subtract 80% of the cost and offer that. Barter with them until you get the price you want, and if you don’t get the price you want, take my second piece of advice.

2. Walk away. Every time I walked away the salesman called after me and gave me the price I wanted to pay.

