I arrived to school last week to find students wound all around the school in a line. All the girls had their heads covered, and I could hear a priest singing. As I found my way to the beginning of the line, I saw that the priest was chanting or singing all the names of the students and faculty. The participant would kneel, put her head to the floor, do the sign of the cross, and then repeat this two more times. Then she stood up, did the sign of the cross, kissed one part of the icon, and repeated this once more kissing the other part of the icon. Then she put money in the bowl and walked under the icon.

It was later explained to me that members of the Orthodox religion believe in present-day miracles. When participating in religious acts like this, one is to think of a need or a problem they have, and according to their faith, the need will be met or the problem will be solved. These religious acts cannot be performed by a priest, only a călucă. A călucă is a priest at the monastery. He cannot marry or have a family and is to spend all day in prayer.

